Connect with NCQA

twitter linkedin facebook google+ youtube pinterest

Report an Error

Use NCQA’s Feedback Form to report a broken link, or content error.

NCQA Redesigning PCMH, Improving Quality in Patient-Centered Care

WASHINGTON, DC—Building upon its existing Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition program, the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is seeking comments for the 2017 PCMH Standards. This update is part of NCQA’s multi-year Recognition Redesign efforts to enhance and evolve our Recognition programs.

The new 2017 PCMH Standards focus on identifying best practices and core activities, signaling that a primary care practice functions as a medical home. Additionally, the new standards promote measurement and improvement at the clinician and practice level.   

The PCMH 2017 requirements are organized into two groups:

  1. CORE: All practices must meet these requirements in order to earn PCMH recognition.
  2. ADDITIONAL CRITERIA: Practices only have to demonstrate a portion of these important requirements, and may choose items to tailor to their community and population. Requirements noted as ADVANCED are more challenging and exceed typical practice functions and capabilities.

NCQA is seeking public comment on the format and content of the requirements practices must complete for PCMH recognition.

How to Participate in Public Comment

Read and comment on the proposed changes online. The Public Comment period begins at 9:00 a.m. ET on June 13, 2016 and ends at 11:59 p.m. ET on July 15, 2016. The PCMH 2017 Program will be effective upon release in March 2017.

Media Contacts

Matt Brock

Cindy Peña