NCQA Innovation Awards

Featuring Quality Accelerators in Health Care

The NCQA Innovation Awards will recognize organizations for implementing leading-edge strategies that improve both quality and value. They will also recognize organizations that support delivery system redesign and patient engagement initiatives (including digital engagement strategies) that help drive better integration across the delivery system and support person-centered care.


Congratulations to the 2023 Awardees!

  • SWAT H2O – Access to Clean, Safe Drinking Water. UniCare Health Plan of West Virginia
  • Specialty Provider Enablement Partnered with Value Based Care Solutions Achieve Better Maternal and Neonatal Outcomes.  Elevance Health
  • Breaking Down Health Equity Barriers with Provider-Led Bundles. Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Learn more about the 2023 winners and other submissions

Which categories or topics are suggested for applicants?

  • Behavioral Health
  • Delivery System Design
  • Health Equity
  • Integration of Care
  • Patient & Family Engagement
  • Use of Technology

What criteria is evaluated for the Awards?

NCQA uses the following criteria to score submissions and choose awardees:

  • Innovation and creativity
  • Sustainability
  • Scalability
  • Impact on intended audience
  • Solution is distinctive from existing approaches
  • Quantitative data showing results/impact
  • Potential for cost impact
  • Potential for quality impact
  • Added value for payer/provider/patients

Which organizations are eligible?

Organizations that hold any NCQA Accreditation, Recognition, Certification or other Distinction are eligible for the Innovation Awards. Also, initiatives lead by organizations or vendors that partnered with an eligible organization (above) may also be eligible.

What does the selection process entail?

Our panel includes representatives from NCQA executives, Board of Directors, Review Oversight Committee, and the Health Innovation Summit Steering Committee. They will review each entry form and score the entries based on completion, project scope and outcome, impact on quality improvement, patient outcomes, sustainability & scalability, and innovation.

How may I submit an initiative and when are submissions due?

Initiatives must be submitted through the web form no later than 11:59 pm EST on July 1, 2024.

May I submit multiple initiatives?

Yes. The same organization may submit multiple initiatives, only when each initiative is unique.

Learn more about the 2022 winners and other submissions Learn more about the 2021 winners and other submissions Learn more about the 2020 winners and other submissions Learn more about the 2019 winners and other submissions

Informational Session Recording

Awardee Benefits

  • Description of initiative within Compendium available for download via NCQA Website (all eligible submissions).
  • Recording of presentation for NCQA distribution.
  • NCQA blog or podcast regarding initiative.
  • Press Release guidance for corporate communications.
  • Engraved Award.


Contact us at

  • Save

    Save your favorite pages and receive notifications whenever they’re updated.

    You will be prompted to log in to your NCQA account.

  • Email

    Share this page with a friend or colleague by Email.

    We do not share your information with third parties.

  • Print

    Print this page.