2014: More than 8,000 practices and 40,000 clinicians have earned NCQA PCMH Recognition.

December 23, 2015 · NCQA Communications

25 for 25: A series of 25 blog posts marking NCQA’s 25th Anniversary


NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition is the most widely used way to transform primary care practices into medical homes. The patient-centered medical home emphasizes care coordination and communication to transform primary care into “what patients want it to be.” Medical homes can lead to higher quality and lower costs, and can improve the patient and provider experience of care.

In 2014, NCQA achieved a quality landmark in its PCMH Recognition program: more than 8,000 practice sites, representing over 40,000 clinicians, had adopted the medical home model.

NCQA Recognition programs evaluate delivery and coordination of care to ensure that patients receive the right care, in the right amount, at the right time. Sites awarded an NCQA seal demonstrate that they deliver quality care using the latest clinical protocols. Many insurers pay higher reimbursement rates to practices that have earned the NCQA PCMH seal.

Earlier this year, NCQA updated the nation’s most widely adopted way of organizing and evaluating patient-centered medical homes by releasing the latest generation of NCQA medical home standards, PCMH 2014. PCMH 2014 standards raise the bar with their emphasis on behavioral healthcare and care management for high-need populations.

Section background
Section graphic
Section element
Section element
Stay Informed

Get updates, announcements and trending topics

Join 53k+ health care professionals