Connect with NCQA

twitter linkedin facebook google+ youtube pinterest

Report an Error

Use NCQA’s Feedback Form to report a broken link, or content error.

Currently Recognized Practices: Information for Practices Recognized Under PCMH 2011 and PCMH 2014 Standards

Recognition Redesign Quick Links 


NCQA has redesigned PCMH Recognition. The redesigned program includes ongoing, sustained recognition status with Annual Reporting instead of a 3-year recognition cycle. NCQA based the redesign on feedback from practices, policy makers, payers and other stakeholders. The program is more manageable, while continuing to concentrate on performance and quality improvement. It also reduces paperwork and increases practice interaction with NCQA. Learn more about the redesigned process. 

Transitioning to the Redesigned Process

If your NCQA-Recognized PCMH practice is approaching renewal, transitioning to the redesigned recognition program will save time.

PCMH 2014 Level 3 Practices: These practices may bypass submission of evidence for criteria under the new process and go directly to the Annual Reporting phase of recognition by enrolling in Q-PASS. Annual Reporting begins 30 days before expiration of your current recognition cycle. This date becomes your anniversary date and your Annual Reporting date.  

NCQA assigns your practice a representative after you enroll in Q-PASS. Your representative can answer questions and give you details about next steps. See detailed information about how to enroll

All Other Currently Recognized Practices: Practices that achieved recognition in PCMH 2011 at Level 1, 2 or 3, or that achieved recognition in PCMH 2014 at Level 1 or 2, can earn recognition at an accelerated pace. These practices can attest to meeting certain criteria without providing the evidence required of practices seeking recognition for the first time. See detailed information about how to enroll.

Crosswalks for Currently Recognized Practices

NCQA has developed crosswalks comparing past NCQA PCMH standards to the new NCQA PCMH criteria released in 2017. Download the PDFs below to see how factors align with 2017 criteria.


Pricing: Because the redesigned recognition process moves from a 3-year recognition to an ongoing, sustained recognition with Annual Reporting, the pricing structure for the NCQA PCMH Recognition program has changed. Learn more about the new pricing structure.  

Annual Reporting 

Annual Reporting helps practices strengthen as medical homes by reviewing their progress and encouraging frequent performance improvement. Learn more about Annual Reporting, including information required for reporting.  

Frequently Asked Questions

See frequently asked questions about the redesigned PCMH recognition program.

Adding New Practices

Organizations that want to bring additional practices through recognition must do so through the Q-PASS system using the redesigned process.  

If your organization currently has multi-site recognition and would like to add sites using the redesigned process and standards released in 2017, you can use credit earned from the corporate survey tool to earn recognition for new practices at an accelerated pace. Learn more about the process:

If you have questions, submit them through My NCQA.  

Education and Training 

NCQA offers education and training opportunities that help clinicians and practices meet their quality goals and improve patient care. Formats include live, in-person seminars, live webinars and on-demand webinars. We cover a wide range of topics that are suitable for clinicians in primary care and specialty practices.