Multicultural Health Care Distinction

MHC_Web_low res.jpgFor two decades, NCQA has worked to improve health care for all Americans. Despite substantial improvement in quality, many people in linguistic, racial and ethnic minority groups continue to have poorer health and lower quality health care.

Cultural competency is a necessary component of a high quality health care system. NCQA’s Multicultural Health Care (MHC) offers distinction to organizations that engage in efforts to improve culturally and linguistically appropriate services and reduce health care disparities.

The Multicultural Health Care Distinction evaluates organizations, such as health plans, wellness, disease management and managed behavioral health organizations through use of an evidence-based set of requirements. These standards create a roadmap for improving and refining initiatives. Participating organizations will be equipped to fulfill state and federal mandates and, in conjunction with performance benchmarks, will be in a position to garner the NCQA seal of Distinction, an eminent and premiere symbol of quality in health care.

MHC Publications
The 2010 MHC Standards and Guidelines and Survey Tool are effective July 1, 2010.


Market Your Quality

NCQA Policy Support

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
FAQs about Accreditation, Certification and HEDIS. Updated the 15th of every month.

Policy Updates & Supporting Documents
News about Accreditation, Certification and HEDIS measures.

Policy Clarification Support (PCS)
Can't find what you need in FAQs or Policy Updates? Submit your question here.