Recognition Notes

The Newsletter of NCQA Recognition Programs

January 2015

August 2014

April 2014

December 2013



What is Recognition?

NCQA Recognition Programs empower employers, health plans, patients and consumers to make informed heath care decisions based on quality. Participation in a NCQA Recognition Program demonstrates that the practice or clinician values quality health care delivery and the latest clinical protocols to ensure that patients receive the best care at the right time.

NCQA Recognition Programs

Practice Programs

Clinician Programs

RP Announcements
Get the latest information and updates on all Recognition Programs, news and questions.

Industry Resources
Find related research articles and supporting organizations, including consultative and technical support for NCQA Recognition Programs.


Medical Boards Awarding Certification for Recognition

ABFM-certified physicians enrolled in NCQA's BPRP, DRP, HSRP and PCMH 2011 Recognition Programs are eligible to receive Part IV Maintenance of Certification credit for achieving NCQA Recognition.

ABIM-certified physicians enrolled in NCQA's Diabetes, Back Pain, or Heart/Stroke Recognition Programs can use data from the programs to complete the ABIM Self-Directed PIM and earn Maintenance of Certification credit.


For more information, submit a PCS question using In the portal, click “My Questions”, select “Ask a Question,” then select “Policy/Program Clarification Support.”

See if your question has already been answered. Access important FAQs and other important information before you submit your question:

Recognition Program Resources

Free Webinar Training
Free programs help complete the application and submission process.

In-Person Training
NCQA live educational seminars on Recognition programs offered around the country.

Purchase Survey Materials
Materials for Recognition application and submission for Recognition programs

Health Plans Using Recognition
A list of insurers who use NCQA Recognition to improve quality.

Data License
Using our Recognition data in your own directories.