Connect with NCQA

twitter linkedin facebook google+ youtube pinterest

Report an Error

Use NCQA’s Feedback Form to report a broken link, or content error.

Pediatric Specialists Can Claim Credit After Earning NCQA Recognition

WASHINGTON, DC—Here’s some good news for pediatric specialists: those who have earned Recognition in NCQA’s Patient-Centered Specialty Practice (PCSP) program are now eligible to claim Part 4 Maintenance of Certification (MOC) credit toward medical board requirements.

Receiving credit is now simpler through an easy attestation process!

The American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) is awarding Part 4 MOC credit to physicians with NCQA PCSP Recognition, based on that program’s 2011 and 2014 standards. This comes a year after the ABP’s 2015 decision to begin offering credit to primary care physicians recognized under NCQA’s Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) program, based on its 2011 or 2014 standards.

 “We’re pleased to have achieved this important strategic alignment around MOC with the ABP,” says NCQA President, Margaret E. O’Kane. “In this time of increasing demand on physicians to record and report on quality improvement activities, this kind of alignment is a win-win-win for the ABP, the NCQA and most importantly for the pediatricians.”

“Hundreds of general pediatricians have been able to earn Part 4 credit through Patient Centered Medical Home recognition from NCQA, and we are excited that this opportunity is now available to subspecialists. We respect the many demands on our board-certified pediatricians and know the rigorous endeavor it is to earn NCQA recognition,” says Virginia A. Moyer, Vice President for Maintenance of Certification and Quality for the ABP.

According to the ABP, pediatricians who participate in MOC learn how to measure quality of care and effectively fill the gaps in their own practice. In addition, pediatricians who participate in MOC demonstrate advanced knowledge and a commitment to lifelong learning.

Physicians participating in either recognition program can enter their board certification information and attest to meaningful participation in quality improvement activities. This information is reported electronically to the ABP, eliminating the need for physicians to record and report this MOC activity separately. Physicians receive 40 Part 4 MOC points when they complete initial and renewal recognition under the PCMH or PCSP program.

The PCMH model is an approach to providing comprehensive primary care that emphasizes an ongoing relationship between patient and physician, and focuses on whole-person orientation and coordination between every medical provider seen by a patient, with the goal of improving care’s quality, effectiveness and efficiency.

Practices participating in the PCMH and PCSP programs evaluate their processes, policies and procedures, and identify areas for improvement. They perform a baseline assessment of a specific area, develop a plan for improvement and measure results. Activities address wellness care and management of chronic conditions, in addition to access to care and community resources and management of patient populations.

Media Contacts

Matt Brock

Cindy Peña