Lessons From the First Accredited ACOs

Listen to the February 13, 2013 Webinar Discussion

WHO: Executives of the first organizations to earn accreditation as Accountable Care Organizations (ACO) will discuss their ACO’s development and accreditation experiences at a Webinar, Lessons from the First Accredited ACOs, on Wednesday, February 13, 2013, 9:30–10:30 a.m. EST.

WHAT: Discussion topics include:

  • Lessons and challenges aligning internal processes to improve an ACO’s ability to reduce cost, improve quality and enhance the patient experience.
  • How accreditation relates to organizations’ previous and future ACO activities.
  • Advice for other aspiring ACOs.

NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane will open the Webinar and NCQA Vice President Patricia Barrett will moderate a discussion featuring six ACO leaders:

Spencer R. Berthelsen, MD, Chairman and Managing Director, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic






Douglas Carr, MD, Medical Director of Education and System Initiatives, Billings Clinic 





Jonathan Crossette, Operations Consultant, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Care Network





Trude Haecker, MD, Medical Director, Quality Improvement Departmental Patient Safety Officer, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Care Network 




  John Smylie, Chief Operating Officer, Essentia Health 






Hal Teitelbaum, MD, JD, Managing Partner and CEO, Crystal Run Healthcare  





Beth Waterman, Chief Improvement Officer, HealthPartners





As early adopters of NCQA Accreditation, the featured ACOs are delivery system innovators. NCQA Accreditation is the nation’s only private evaluation program that:

  • Defines what a high-quality ACO is—for public and private ACO initiatives alike.
  • Identifies ACOs that are ready to coordinate and be held accountable for efficient, patient-centered care.
  • Gives provider-led organizations a roadmap to demonstrate their ability to reach the triple aim: reduce cost, improve quality and enhance the patient experience.


WHEN: Wednesday, February 13, 2013
9:30–10:30 a.m. EST