Connect with NCQA

twitter linkedin facebook google+ youtube pinterest

Report an Error

Use NCQA’s Feedback Form to report a broken link, or content error.

NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane Elected to NCHC Board

WASHINGTON, DC—The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is proud to announce the election of our president, Margaret E. O’Kane, to the Board of Directors for the National Coalition on Health Care (NCHC). The vote was by unanimous consent.  

“I am deeply honored to have been elected as a board member of this esteemed organization with colleagues who are equally committed to the advancement of quality health care,” said Margaret E. O’Kane, NCQA President. “The National Coalition on Health Care is just that—a coalition of diverse organizations and perspectives but with the same goal in mind: to improve health care quality and affordability for all. I am eager to work with NCHC Board and find solutions to the many complex issues of health care.”

Peggy O’Kane is a leading expert in health care quality and measurement. She is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, and received the Picker Institute Individual Award for Excellence in the Advancement of Patient-Centered Care, as well as the Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award from the National Center for Healthcare Leadership. 

Modern Healthcare magazine has named O’Kane one of the “100 Most Influential People in Healthcare” 11 times, most recently in 2016, and one of the “Top 25 Women in Healthcare” 3 times.

In addition to the NCHC Board, O’Kane also serves on the board of the Milbank Memorial Fund and is Chairman of the Board of Healthwise. She has also served on several other boards including the Institute of Medicine and the National Quality Forum.

O’Kane holds a master’s degree in health administration and planning from Johns Hopkins University, where she received the Distinguished Alumna Award.

Media Contacts

Matt Brock

Cindy Peña